somewhere in the middle 2

…we were laying there
i was watching you
you were watching me
and i wanted this memory to last forever
because i didn’t know where things would be after the day
so i lifted my hand
for my fingers to glide across your cheek
and you raised your hand to stop me
said that you didn’t want to start
because you’d never want to stop
and i didn’t know how to tell you
that all i wanted was for our legs to be tangled like typical mornings
for my arms to be wrapped around your waist
for my head to rest in the crook of your neck
just to lay there with you
in the quiet of the morning
but all i could remember
was somewhere in the middle
that one time
when the autumn leaves were falling
and the curtains were swaying
and the sun was setting
and i was pacing in the yellow hallway
and you were locked in the bathroom
and the walls were seeming to close in on me
pushing me up against the door
and the walls were seeming to close in on me
and the closer i got to the door
the more i could hear your soft cries
in between your screams
and how the sound of me banging echoed
and when the walls were seeming to close in on me
and you were screaming at me to leave
and you couldn’t decide
because you needed someone to help pick you up
and glue you back together with sliced fingertips
and bloodstained glass
you were screaming at me to leave
and you couldn’t decide
because you needed someone to tell you how beautiful you were
and i was screaming at the door
broken eyes
i was screaming at the door
because you were beautiful
with brown eyes
and full lips
dark skin
widened figure
you were beautiful
and i told you how i hated anyone who ever told you that you weren’t
because sometimes those pieces of glass were too small for me to grasp…

Leave a Reply

